Sweden, Sweden, Sweden!

So I thought I'd start from when I came home. And go from there. 
 
I hadn't told my family (except my dad) that I was coming home on the 1st of Feb, the others thought I'd come home on the 4th. 
 
So after the smoothest flight I've ever had (9 hours in total with 1 layover in Iceland) I landed in Stockholm at 11.30 am. After a little bit of confusion at the arrival gate I finally saw him and tears filled my eyes (that's the most I've "cried" since I left which is soooo weird!). He had made plans with my brother who lives in Stockholm to have lunch, so I tagged along to surprise him. That was fun! 
 
My head had not switched to Swedish yet though, cause during that lunch I read "drag" (Swedish word for pull) in English and that didn't make sense in my head to write that on a door! 
 
We then headed home to Linköping. My sister was at the house so I just stepped in and that was even more fun! "You are not supposed to be here!" "No! I wanted to pick you up!" "I'm mad" were some of the things said. Another dear reunion was with our dog Troja. That was so amazing, she remembered me and was so happy (she guarded me that night and even wanted to sleep next to me!) 
 
After realizing my mother wasn't at her apartment, we skillfully figured out where she was, have to say it was mostly my sister's doing. We drove by the apartment building where the friend she was visiting lived and then I had to figure out which apartment. But after a while I just called her, and got her to go out of the apartment. I then ran up to her and that was more of a chock than surprise for her. Her face was like a huge questionmark and she couldn't really grasp what was happening. I had to run pretty soon after seeing her, so that didn't help her. That reaction was priceless! 
 
With reactions like that I knew my dad had been successfull in keeping it a secret. Hurray! 
 
But my day didn't end there. My sister wanted to go to the movies, so the movie lover that I am I joined her. Zero Dark Thirty got the honor of being the first movie seen back in Sweden! I thought since I was still on Boston time that I would be fine. But my day had taken it's toll on me and with a movie where nothing really happens until the end I couldn't help but sleep like 5 minutes..but still, it was a good movie but see it well rested! 
 
Anyway, first day back was a hit! 
 
The rest of that weekend (1st was a Friday) I spent at home with my dad and sister. Didn't feel like doing to much, just soak in all that was familiar. Watching cross country skiing in the mornings and walking Troja, driving stick again, eating pizza with kebab on it, watching "Melodifestivalen" (which still is sooooo bad!) and just hanging out. I even got a surprise visit from my awesome cousin  Natalie! <3 Ended the weekend with lunch with more family. My grand parent's and some of my grand dads siblings plus my mothers cousin. My grand dad's sister, Essy, I've actually Skyped with a bunch during the year, but the rest I haven't really spoken to since 2012 or even 2011 so that was a lot of fun. Though I stood for most of the talking, I guess that's how it goes when you've done the amazing things I've done ;) 
A perfect weekend to charge my batteries and face the packed week ahead of me! 
 
<3


Comments


Enter your comment here:


Name:
Remember me?

E-mail address: (will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comments:

Trackback

myswedishteaparty.blogg.se

a former au pair finding her way back in Sweden.

RSS 2.0